Back to All Events

Upcoming CAPT event: Double Duty: Addressing Other Priority Substances in the Midst Of The Opioid Crisis

Register for this Upcoming CAPT Event

Double Duty: Addressing Other Priority Substances in the Midst Of The Opioid Crisis

When

  • Meeting type: Virtual
  • Date: Thursday, September 6, 2018
  • Time: 3:00pm to 4:30pm AST
    3:00pm to 4:30pm EDT
    2:00pm to 3:30pm CDT
    1:00pm to 2:30pm MDT
    12:00pm to 1:30pm PDT
  • Duration: 1 hours, 30 minutes

Audience

SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) substance misuse prevention grantees, including National Prevention Network representatives, Single State Agency representatives, grant project directors, and other state-, tribe- and jurisdiction-level staff across grant cohorts

Description

Prevention practitioners across the country acknowledge the need to understand emerging substance problems, especially when the nation’s prevention workforce is focused so intently on addressing the opioid crisis. The multi-pronged approaches to addressing opioid misuse and overdose in our states, tribes, jurisdictions and communities have left fewer resources to survey and intervene in the possible next drug crises. Support is needed to better understand what these new drug trends are, and how to simultaneously monitor and address these problems while continuing to focus on opioid misuse prevention efforts.

This webinar will present emerging drug trends coinciding with the rise in opioid misuse at the national and regional levels and explore the role of prevention in addressing these substance misuses. We will also highlight best practices for monitoring and addressing new priority substance problems in various regions throughout the U.S.

How to Register?

Visit the event's page at CAPT Connect and click the "Register" button next to a date and time. If you already have an account you will be asked to log in, otherwise you will need to complete a user profile in order to confirm your event registration.

Questions?

For questions about event content, please contact Rachel Pascale, Training and Technical Assistance Specialist at rpascale@edc.org. If you have technical difficulties, questions, or comments prior to or during the event, please contact our tech team atcaptconnect@edc.org. Please put the event date in the subject of your email so that we can better respond to your inquiry.